Love, save the empty, save me.

“Girls are taught a lot of stuff growing up: If a guy punches you he likes you. Never try to trim your own bangs. And someday you will meet a wonderful guy and get your very own happy ending.
Every movie we see, every story we’re told implores us to wait for it, this third act twist: the unexpected declaration of love, the exception to the rule.
But sometimes we’re so focused on finding our happy ending, we don’t learn how to read the signs. How to tell the ones who want us from the ones who don’t, the ones who will stay and the ones who will leave.
And maybe this happy ending doesn’t include a wonderful guy. Maybe it’s you, on your own, picking up the pieces and starting over. Freeing yourself up for something better in the future. Maybe the happy ending is just moving on.
Or maybe the happy ending is this: Knowing that all the unreturned phone calls and broken-hearts, through the blunders and misread signals, through all the pain and embarrassment… you never, ever, gave up hope.”

So… I finally got my butt down to watching He’s Just Not That Into You… And I love it. I can’t believe someone actually told me to not bother watching it at all because it was boring. Sure, it wasn’t like all exciting and I didn’t go like awwww because of some cheesy romantic line or some hot guy. But it was good. Kind of opened my eyes a little.

I wanted to watch the movie so badly 3 years ago, with the guy I liked then.. Just so, to see his reaction after the movie.. Because I never quite got the signals he was sending out to me. We didn’t watch it in the end (obviously). But after watching the movie, there was just so much truth in it.

Guys, are just really simple ‘creatures’. They aren’t like girls, who don’t mean what they say, half the time, if not more. If they don’t give a shit about you, they truly don’t give a shit about you. If they really want to date you, they will make it happen, and not just sit back and watch how things progress along the way.

I am that kind of drama girl. I overthink, a lot in fact. I read too much into the things people say or do, and at the end of the day, I could have just interpreted it wrongly. I overthink, if a guy is being ultra nice to me, like why would anyone do that? Unless he’s a close friend that I know well for a period of time. Or he’s crazy HAH.

So please don’t treat me too nicely if you don’t even like me that kind of way. Shit gon’ get crazy.

Over the past 3 years, I’ve learnt my lesson. Fairytale endings do happen. But they are rare miracles. The protagonists are the exception. And chances of me being the exception? Close to zero. So I don’t need to dream about some guy who’s going to fall deeply in love with me and tell me in my eyes that I look gorgeous the next morning because, no, my life isn’t a movie nor is it a fairytale.

It’s a good movie that I will re-watch whenever I feel a little lost about the whole concept of love. It’s got a bunch of my favourite actors and actresses, it’s not sappy, cliche or whatever.

/May I just rave about the lovely playlist they had ugh. The Ting Tings! Erin McCarley! The Cure! (@*#)(*@)(#/

Don’t give up hope. Ever.

Leave a Reply

