A new year, a new chapter.

It’s only been two days into 2015 and I must say that I’m feeling really upbeat and excited about how the year will unfold. In less than 48 hours, there has been some changes to my life – changes that may affect major parts of my life in the long run, and I can’t wait to see how things will unfold.

Every single year, I have the same resolution of ‘exercise regularly’ which never ever happens… And I’m glad I kickstarted the year by cycling from ECP all the way to Changi Village and back – approximately 28km in total – within a span of three hours. I sure am feeling the consequences from not cycling for more than a year, especially for such a long distance. Unlike running, the pressure of having to return the bicycle before the rental time is up forces me to push myself despite the aches I felt in my thighs. While I’ve always particularly enjoyed cycling, it has always been pure leisure and I’ve never cycled beyond Bedok at all in my entire life. Well, not until yesterday. The weather was forgiving – with a nice constant cool breeze, and it was exhilarating, to have been able to cycle past Changi airport – the runway, control tower etc. – as well as to catch a glimpse of the SAF Ferry Terminal and Tekong, since I’ve never been there before. The journey back proved to be tough, as the sky got darker and my legs felt like they were going to give way any moment, but I could not have been more proud of myself, to have persevered and pushed on, especially the last 10-minute rush back, which felt like a really long time.

The second day of the year proved to be exciting as well, even though I was overwhelmed with stress. Thanks to Bryan, I managed to secure a short internship stint, and I drafted my first real press release today. The thought of it just seems so unreal! The only experience I’ve ever had with PR or a media kit, was the project for the PR module and for that, I was working on a fictional event (The Triwizard Tournament)!! It was definitely not easy, trying to churn out something that hopefully, the media outlets would pick up… And it certainly didn’t help that I was having a bad case of a writer’s block… However, I am crossing my fingers and hoping for the best! It is all very fast-paced and I’m definitely looking forward to what the outcomes may be… Even though this is all so last minute and it is literally taking up my entire winter break.

The thought of finally putting what I’ve learnt in class to good use…. It’s just so uplifting! I feel like I might actually be a useful human being…!

It’s finally the weekend… But I can’t wait to see what next week might bring me… So till then!

Leave a Reply

