So… What now?

It’s been a week since I’ve had my very last recitation. A 4 year undergraduate programme condensed into a period of less than 3 years and and a grand total of 8 semesters. Time has indeed passed so quickly and what seems regrettable is that it took me 12 years to truly enjoy the process of studying. Not so much the part where group projects come in, but studying a variety of modules – yes, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing a degree in Communication has been one of the most enriching experiences so far. Being thrown into a pool of students who have diverse expertise – from writing to designing to public speaking – really forces you to step up your game and show the lecturers what you’ve got.

The submission of my last project sort of proved that Communication students do know how to spoil market. It was my first (and last) time working with students from other majors and I realised that we had different working styles and expectations (That’s not to say that other majors have low expectations or skills whatsoever). What seemed like a subpar and unsatisfactory project to me appeared to be really fascinating to them. I can only conclude that the nature of modules Communication students take has trained us to come up with projects that are designed professionally. Using Photoshop/Illustrator almost seems like second nature to us (or at least to me), even if it’s the bare minimum. It’s my best friend and I’ve used it for so many modules – Organisational Communication, Communication Theory, Advertising, Public Relations, Persuasion, Communication Graphics etc.

Even though sometimes I get the feeling that my degree is so “all-over-the-place”, since I do a little of everything (which only reinforces the fact that I feel like a jack of all trades but master of none), I am nonetheless thankful to have been exposed to many different career options that I can possibly go into.

What can I say? My journey with UB has been fun-filled and enriching. I made some good friends, some of which I’ve travelled with and taken/am taking language classes with. I participated in a freshman orientation camp, which was the most fruitful holiday I’ve ever had. I had the opportunity to study and live in Korea for a month, as well as to spend a semester in UB.

Now that this journey has ended, I wonder what’s next?

I spent a good amount of time today looking for suitable job openings and sending in resumes. Some companies feel sort of daunting and near impossible, but whatever, I submitted my resume anyway. It felt like the exact moment when I had shitty A level results and I applied for NUS Law school for the fun of it anyway, because you know… Who cares?

I anticipate my relatives asking me whether I’m looking for a job or whether I’ve found a job during my next family gathering… And honestly, I’ll just take one step at a time and see how it goes.

While it’s good to focus on the future, it isn’t entirely bad to focus on the present either. Right now, I just want to brush up on my Japanese, catch up on some of my dramas and do some drawings. Just gonna cross my fingers and hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

